Zum Inhalt Zum Hauptmenü Zu weiteren Infos

OIB Guidelines

The OIB Guidelines serve to harmonise the construction engineering regulations in Austria. They are issued by the Austrian Institute for Construction Engineering upon decision in the General Assembly and are thus available to the federal states. The federal states may declare OIB Guidelines as binding in their building codes.However, the OIB Guidelines may be deviated from in accordance with the provisions of the relevant regulations of the federal states, if it is demonstrated that an equivalent level of protection in compliance with the OIB guidelines is achieved. This is intended to ensure the necessary flexibility for innovative architectural and technical solutions.

The OIB Guidelines follow the concept of performance-oriented building requirements.

The OIB Guidelines are organised according to the basic requirements for construction works of the EU Construction Products Directive. No OIB Guideline exists only for the basic requirement „Sustainable use of natural resources”. There are thus the following OIB Guidelines:

OIB Guidelines
Guideline title
OIB Guideline 1 Mechanical resistance and stability
OIB Guideline 2 Safety in case of fire
OIB Guideline 2.1 Safety in case of fire in operational structures
OIB Guideline 2.2 Safety in case of fire in garages, roofed parking spaces and multi-storey car parks
OIB Guideline 2.3 Safety in case of fire in buildings with a fire escape level in excess of 22 m
OIB Guideline 3 Hygiene, health and preservation of the environment
OIB Guideline 4 Safety in use and accessibility
OIB Guideline 5 Protection against noise
OIB Guideline 6 Energy saving and heat insulation


The OIB Guidelines 2019 were resolved in the General Assembly of the OIB on 12th April 2019.